If you are a software developer, you most likely have a Git Hub account. If due to some reason, you want to delete that account, follow the easy steps given below.
Things You Should Know before deleting your account?
As we have seen above that deleting your account on Git Hub leads to a lot of changes and major data losses, there are some steps that you should take before delting your account. These are:
- If you are a member of the organization created on Git Hub, and also are the owner, before deleting your account, either transfer the ownership to someone else or delete the organization
- Since all of the repositories that you created on your account will be lost, you should back up all that data.
How to delete the Github account?
- Open the Git Hub website and login to your account.
- Click on the Profile Icon that is visible on all pages.
- Go to Settings.
- Click on Account menu. At the bottom of the page, you will see the option labelled Delete Account
- After you give it a click, a confirmation dialog box appears. The dialog box mentions what will happen if you delete the account.
- After carefully reading the information, you will see two tabs. Enter your Username or email on the first one and Delete my Account on the other one.
- Click on Cancel Plan and Delete.
Consequences of deleting your GitHub account
If you have made your mind to delete your account on Git Hub, it is important that you understand all the processes that will take place after you delete your account. This will aid you in making practical decisions about the future of your account.
After you delete your account:
- The billing is cancelled and the website immediately stops charging you.
- All the repositories created on your account, wikis, pages owned by you will get deleted.
- All the issues you have raised, pull requests you have made and comments made on the repositories owned by others will still be on the website but now they will not show your username. It will instead be mentioned in the name of Ghost User
- The email address associated with your earlier account can now be used to create another account
- The username that you had on the account, will be available after 90 days to whoever asks for it.
FAQ’s | Frequently Asked Questions
As soon as you click on Cancel Plan and Delete, Git hub immediately stops charging you for your account. You need not to take any special steps to ensure that the billing is cancelled. That step is included in the process of account deletion.
You can visit here for more Smart Devices guide.
Like This Post? Checkout More