How to Delete Your Meetup Account?

by ,

Meetup has very ancient roots. It was started in 2002 and going by the relevance, many users have now started feeling that they may have better options for the same concept that Meetup became popular for.

If you were a part of the online meetup community when it launched in the early 2000s, and now you do not wish to continue being a part of it, then follow the steps down below to delete your Meetup account.

How to Delete Your Meetup Account?

Things To Note before deleting your Meetup account

  • Before you press delete on your Meetup account, please be aware that the action that you are about to perform is permanent and as soon as the account is deleted, you will lose all the data on the account.
  • In the future, if you want to revive your account, you will not be able to do so, rather you will have to create a new account from scratch.

How to delete Meetup Account?

Method 1: From Your Desktop Browser

  1. Visit the link to the official meetup website and log in.
  2. Click on the Profile picture icon and follow through to the Settings menu.
  3. At the bottom of the page, you will find, Delete your Meetup Account.
  4. You will be asked to enter the password for your meetup account.
  5. Click on the red button named Submit.
  6. You have successfully completed the process of deleting your meetup account.

Method 2: If account created Through Facebook or Google

If the meetup account that you created was linked to your Google or Facebook id, you need to follow the steps down below:

  1. Visit the Password Reset page.
  2. Enter the email that you used for your Google or Facebook
  3. Click on Submit and then you will be sent a link to set up a password on Meetup.
  4. After the Password is generated, login to the meetup account with that password.
  5. Click on the Profile picture icon and follow through to the Settings menu.
  6. At the bottom of the page, you will find, Delete your Meetup Account.
  7. You will be asked to enter the password for your meetup account.
  8. Click on the red button named Submit.
  9. You have successfully completed the process of deleting your meetup account.

Method 3: If Account Is Created Through The Apple ID

  • Go to the your Meetup profile.
  • Copy the shown email address.
  • Then go to the Password Reset page.
  • Enter the copied email address.
  • Click on Submit and then you will be sent a link to set up a password on Meetup.
  • After the Password is generated, login to the meetup account with that password.
  • Click on the Profile picture icon and follow through to the Settings menu.
  • At the bottom of the page, you will find, Delete your Meetup Account.
  • You will be asked to enter the password for your meetup account.
  • Click on the red button named Submit.
  • You have successfully completed the process of deleting your meetup account.

FAQ’s | Frequently asked Questions

What special steps do I need to follow if I am a member or Organizer of an active group on Meetup?

Before you delete the Meetup account, you will need to step down as the organizer of the group or close your group. Then you can follow through to delete the account.

You can visit here for more Smart Devices guide.


Like This Post? Checkout More

Photo of author

Falguni Rana

An enthusiastic explorer in the world of words. I like to interact with my fellow travellers and dive in their potential worlds. A content writer, building literary bridges, one word at a time. Each article is my stepping stone to a new realm of writing. Every day is inspiring with the pillowcases woven in literary threads. I would love for you to follow me on my writing journey.