How to delete Messages in Messenger?

by ,

Using messaging apps for a long time, there comes a time when you encounter a barrage of messages on your account.  You might not feel the need to store all of these messages and this also helps with reducing clutter in the message box.

How To Delete Messages In Messenger

If you have been using Facebook messenger for a long time and you want to delete the messages on your messenger, you can follow the steps down below to do so using different devices.


How to delete Messages in Messenger?

Method 1: Through Web Browser

  • Follow the link and open the Facebook website
  • Log in to your account with the correct credentials.
  • On the toolbar tab, click on the Messenger icon
  • Find the conversation from which you want to delete the messages.
  • Click on the chosen conversation to open it.
  • Hover over the message and a three-dot icon is revealed.
  • Click on the three-dot icon.
  • Click on Remove
  • If the message was sent by you, you will have a choice between Remove for You and Unsend For Everyone otherwise you can just press Remove
  • The message will be deleted.

Method 2: Through the mobile application

  • Launch the Messenger app on your device.
  • Log in to your account if by any chance you are not already logged in.
  • Click on the conversation from which you want to delete the message.
  • Find the message that you want to delete and click and hold on the message.
  • You will see four options at the bottom of the screen.
  • Click on Remove.
  • If the message was sent by you, you will have an additional option of unsending the message.
  • If the message was not sent by you, you can only remove the message from your conversation.
  • Click on Remove and the message will be deleted.

How to Delete the Entire Conversation On Messenger?

If you do not wish to delete individual messages but the whole conversation, you can follow the steps down below to erase the whole conversation.

  • Launch the Messenger app on your phone
  • Log in to your account if by any chance you are not already logged in
  • Find the conversation that you want to delete from the list of conversations on messenger.
  • Click and hold the selected conversation to reveal options regarding the conversation.
  • A menu appears with many options.
  • Click on Delete
  • On the confirmation prompt that you see next, click on Delete once again to confirm your choice.
  • The conversation will be deleted from your account.

FAQs | Frequently Asked Questions

If I delete the conversation from my account, does this also delete the conversation for the other parties involved in the deleted conversation?

Deleting the conversation from your account will only delete the conversation from your account. It does not delete the conversation from the account of the other parties involved in the conversation.

How can I restore a deleted conversation?

Unfortunately, deleting a conversation is a permanent change on the account and you cannot recover the conversation or messages on your account after you decide to delete them.


Like This Post? Checkout More

Photo of author

Falguni Rana

An enthusiastic explorer in the world of words. I like to interact with my fellow travellers and dive in their potential worlds. A content writer, building literary bridges, one word at a time. Each article is my stepping stone to a new realm of writing. Every day is inspiring with the pillowcases woven in literary threads. I would love for you to follow me on my writing journey.