In this day and age if you still have an account on Yahoo, it must be an account you made when Yahoo as a company was at the peak.
When it was first launched in 1994, users lined up to get their special Yahoo accounts where they could find email, news, and also search for things.
Yahoo had no natural competitors at the time and therefore, the company was enjoying the dominance at the market.
When it was time to innovate and make the platform future ready, Yahoo faltered and chose to be in the comfort zone. This was the reason that Yahoo got left behind in the race of online presence.
In today’s time, Yahoo is nothing but an interesting case study about how a business can drop down from the skies from the lack of innovation.
If you want to delete your account on Yahoo mail, which is obviously not of any beneficial use, you can read the steps down below to easily delete your presence from the platform.
Thing To Note before Deleting Yahoo Mail account?
You may not have any use for Yahoo as a platform but over the years, Yahoo had saved many mails and data that might be important to you.
It is important to note what comes with the decision of deleting your account on Yahoo so that you can take a backup of the important data before you close your account.
Here is what you should remember.
- You will lose complete access to your account on Yahoo.
- You will lose all the sent and received emails on your Yahoo account.
- You will not have access to the data stored on the Yahoo extensions like My Yahoo, Flikr, and any other add on related to your Yahoo account.
- If some mails are sent to you on your Yahoo address after you delete your account, you will not receive that mail and they will see an error in the mail delivery.
- Deleting your account will not automatically cancel the subscriptions on your Yahoo account.
After reading all the points listed above, make sure that you take a backup of your important data, inform the people about you closing your account that you are expecting mails from, cancel all the subscriptions on the Yahoo account.
How to Delete your Yahoo mail account?
account made with British Telecommunications
If your Yahoo account is affiliated with British Telecommunications, the account cannot be deleted from the Yahoo termination page.
You need to contact BT directly so that they can aid you in the account deletion.
Normal Yahoo Account
- On the Yahoo Delete User page, enter your username.
- Click on Next.
- Enter your Password when prompted. In case of Two Factor Authentication, you will also get a message on your registered mobile number.
- You will see a prompt. This contains the terms and conditions that are important to read before you delete your account.
- Read the information and click on Continue Delete My Account.
- Enter your email address once again when prompted.
- Click on Yes, Terminate this Account.
- You will see a message that confirms that your Yahoo account has been deactivated and will be deleted soon.
- Click on Got It.
Your account will be deleted in the next 30 days. In some cases, Yahoo also keeps the account viable for uoto 180 days. If your Yahoo account is a Finance Premium Account, your data may be stored on the Yahoo server for upto three years.
FAQs | Frequently Asked Questions
To reactivate your deleted account on Yahoo, you can only do it within the 30 day period where the account is in the deactivation mode and is in the process to get deleted. If you change your mind during these thirty days, you can log in to your account and you will get full access to the account and the data associated with it.
During the process of deleting your account, when the account is in the transition period, that is, the deactivation period, you cannot receive any emails on your id. Even when you log in and reactivate your account, you will nit be able to receive the mails that were already rejected during the time your account was deactivated.
You can visit here for more Smart Devices guide.
Like This Post? Checkout More